<u>Cleveland County Board of Commissioners</u> <u>December 5, 2022</u>

The Cleveland County Board of Commissioners met for an organizational meeting on this date, at the hour

of 10:00 a.m. in the Commission Chamber of the Cleveland County Administrative Offices.

PRESENT:Kevin Gordon, Chairman
Deb Hardin, Vice-Chair
Johnny Hutchins, Commissioner
Ronnie Whetstine, Commissioner
Doug Bridges, Commissioner
Tim Moore, County Attorney
Brian Epley, County Manager
Phyllis Nowlen, Clerk to the Board
Kerri Melton, Assistant County Manager
Martha Thompson, Chief Deputy Attorney
Jason Falls, Business Development Director
Betsy Harnage, Register of Deeds
Daryl Sando, Electronic Maintenance Director

CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Gordon called the meeting to order and Employee Support Manager Dr. Eric Davis provided the

invocation and led the audience in the Pledge of Allegiance.

MOTION TO RECONVENE

ACTION: Commissioner Hardin made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Hutchins, and passed

unanimously by the Board to, reconvene from the Tuesday, November 15, 2022 regular Commissioners' meeting.

OATH OF OFFICE: SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION

Clerk to the Board Phyllis Nowlen administered the oath to Sherry Greene for the office of Soil and Water

Conservation District Supervisor.

Clerk to the Board Phyllis Nowlen administered the oath to Ted Wortman for the office of Soil and Water

Conservation District Supervisor

OATH OF OFFICE: COMMISSIONERS

Speaker of the House Tim Moore administered the oath to Doug Bridges for the office of Cleveland County

Commissioner.

Speaker of the House Tim Moore administered the oath to Deb Hardin for the office of Cleveland County

SELECTION OF COMMISSION CHAIR

County Manager Brian Epley opened the floor to accept nominations for Commission Chair.

NOMINATIONS: Commissioner Whetstine made a motion to nominate Kevin Gordon for Chair

(Commissioner Hutchins seconded the motion). Kevin Gordon was elected Chairman by unanimous vote.

SELECTION OF COMMISSION VICE-CHAIR

Chairman Gordon opened the floor to accept nominations for Commission Vice-Chair.

NOMINATIONS: Commissioner Hutchins made a motion to nominate Ronnie Whetstine for Vice-Chair (Commissioner Bridges seconded the motion). Ronnie Whetstine was elected Vice-Chairman by unanimous vote.

<u>CLOSED SESSION</u>

<u>ACTION:</u> Commissioner Hardin made the motion, seconded by Commissioner Hutchins, and unanimously adopted by the Board, *to go into closed session per North Carolina General Statute § 143-318.11(a)(6) to consider a personnel matter.* (Copy of closed session minutes are sealed and found in Closed Session Minute Book).

RECONVENE IN REGULAR SESSION

<u>ACTION:</u> Commissioner Whetstine made the motion, seconded by Commissioner Hutchins, and unanimously adopted by the Board to, *reconvene in open session*.

Chairman Gordon stated the following, "no action was taken; the Board gave direction regarding a personnel matter."

ADJOURN

There being no further business to come before the Board at this time, Commissioner Hardin made the motion, seconded by Commissioner Whetstine, and unanimously adopted by the Board, *to adjourn the meeting*. The next regular meeting of the Commission is scheduled for *Tuesday*, *December 13*, *2022 at 6:00 p.m.* in the *Commissioners Chambers*.

Kevin Gordon, Chair Cleveland County Board of Commissioners

Phyllis Nowlen, Clerk to the Board Cleveland County Board of Commissioners